Members Login

AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award

The AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award may be presented annually to any medical student who submits an outstanding abstract for a paper, poster, or electronic exhibit for presentation at the AUR Annual Meeting. Up to two awards may be presented annually. To be eligible, the work must have been performed while the applicant was a medical student. The candidate must be the first author or the presenter of the project.

The winning submission’s author will receive a $500 honorarium and a certificate and will be acknowledged during the AUR 67th Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, April 9 - 12, 2019.

Submissions for the AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award competition:

  • Cannot be under consideration for an award by another organization (other than AUR and its Affinity Groups or APDR)
  • Cannot be already published
  • Cannot be under consideration for publication by a journal other than Academic Radiology
  • Cannot be presented at a national meeting before the 2019 AUR Annual Meeting

An abstract MUST be submitted for presentation consideration at the AUR Meeting and must be received by the abstract deadline of September 26, 2018, 12:00 pm (noon) Central Time. If the submitted abstract is accepted for presentation, an expanded abstract must be submitted electronically to by December 17, 2018, 6:00 pm Central Time.

The expanded abstract should consist of 1500 to 2000 words divided into purpose, methods, results and conclusions. In addition, it may contain up to 2 tables and 2 to 3 figures. Up to four references can be included. With the expanded abstract, please submit a letter signed by the applicant and the department chair and include telephone and fax numbers, institutional affiliation, title of abstract, and a statement attesting to the fact that the research was primarily and substantially performed by the medical student applying for the award. Award winners will be notified in January 2019. Winners must be officially registered for the AUR meeting and are responsible for their own travel.

Please note: Both an abstract and expanded abstract must be submitted to be eligible for the award.

Award Recipients

2018 Joshua S. Harford 2011  Jeffrey D. Poot
2017 Sarah Flanagan 2010 Elizabeth T. Chorney 
2016 John Renfrew   Kevin C. McCammack
2015 Nikita Lakomkin 2009 Anna Knisely
2014 Thomas A. McLaren   Danielle Chan
2013    Andrew W. Phillips 2008 Jeffrey J. Gronkiewicz 
2012 Dana J. Lin   Rajiv Kumar