Members Login

Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) - Harvey L. Neiman Award

The Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) - Harvey L. Neiman Award may be presented annually to any student, resident, fellow, or AUR member who submits an outstanding abstract on radiology socioeconomics or health services research for presentation at the AUR Annual Meeting.

The winning submission’s author will receive a certificate and $1,000 honorarium and will be asked to present his or her paper during the AUR 68th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 21 - 24, 2020. It is expected that a manuscript describing the work will be prepared for subsequent submission to JACR for consideration of publication.

Submissions for the RAHSR-Harvey L. Neiman Award competition:

  • Cannot be under consideration for an award by another organization (other than AUR and its Affinity Groups or APDR)
  • Cannot be already published
  • Cannot be under consideration for publication by a journal other than Academic Radiology
  • Cannot be presented at a national meeting before the 2020 AUR Annual Meeting

To be considered for this award, an abstract MUST be submitted separately for presentation consideration in the scientific sessions of the AUR meeting and must be received by the abstract deadline of October 9, 2019, 12:00 pm (noon) Central Time. An expanded abstract must be submitted electronically to by January 10, 2020, 6:00 pm Central Time.

Expanded abstracts should have the same format as a regular AUR abstract (purpose, methods, results, and conclusions), except they can be 1500 to 2000 words in length and contain up to 2 tables and 2 to 3 figures. Up to four references can be included. Manuscripts must conform to the JACR submission guidelines for research articles.

With the expanded abstract, please submit a letter signed by the applicant and the department chair and include telephone and fax numbers, institutional affiliation, title of abstract, and a statement attesting to the fact that the research was primarily and substantially performed by the applicant. Winners will be notified in February 2020. Winners must be officially registered for the AUR meeting and are responsible for their own travel.

Please note: Both an abstract and an expanded abstract must be submitted to be eligible for the award.

Award Recipients

2019 Anna V. Trofimova
2018 Patricia Balthazar
2017 Geraldine Liao
2016 Gelareh Sadigh
2015 Kirsteen R. Burton
2014 Gelareh Sadigh
2013 Jana Ivanidze
2012 Bahman S. Roudsari
2011 Hansel J. Otero
2010 Bahman S. Roudsari
2009 Kathleen R. Tozer
2008 Asako Miyakoshi
2007 No Award Given
2006 No Award Given
2005 Marta Heilbrun