Biannual Newsletter • Summer 2013



AUR 2013 JW Marriott LA Live

On April 9-12, 2013, the 61st annual meeting of the Association of University Radiologists was held in Los Angeles, CA. Chief Residents from around the country gathered for proceedings of the A³CR². The sessions offered a wide variety of topics and the opportunity to network with peers and fellow leaders. New executive officers and steering committee members were elected in preparation for the upcoming 2013-14 academic year.

2013 A³CR² Session Highlights



Case Review Sessions provided excellent overviews of subspecialty imaging by experts in the field



The Idea Forum offered open discussion of common issues facing radiology chief residents, including preparation for the new CORE Exam







The Brogdon Panel featured three renowned leaders in academic radiology discussing current and future models in resident education, including the structure of the R4 year

2013-2014 A³CR² Executive and Steering Committees

Officers

President	Margaret Hsu, MD	University of California Davis	margaret.hsu@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
Vice President	Lance Warren, MD	University of Tennessee	lwarren@mc.utmck.edu
Secretary	Joseph R. Grajo, MD	University of South Florida	jgrajo@health.usf.edu
Treasurer	Brad Gans, MD	Ohio State University	bradley.gans@osumc.edu
Immediate Past President	Victor Sai, MD	University of California San	victor.sai@ucsf.edu
		Francisco	

Faculty Advisors

Senior Faculty Advisor	Gautham P. Reddy, MD	University of Washington	reddyg@uw.edu
Faculty Advisors	Darel E. Heitkamp, MD	Indiana University	deheitka@iupui.edu
	Tan-Lucien H. Mohammed, MD	Virginia Mason Medical Center	mohammed10@gmail.com
	Angelisa M. Paladin, MD	University of Washington	apaladin@uw.edu
	Charles S. Resnik, MD	University of Maryland	cresnik@umm.edu
	Richard B. Ruchman, MD	Monmouth Medical Center	rruchman@barnabashealth.
			org



Left to right: Lance Warren (Vice President), Margaret Hsu (President), Joseph R. Grajo (Secretary), Gautham Reddy (Senior Faculty Advisor)
Not Pictured: Brad Gans (Treasurer)

Committees

Awards Chair	Karl Yaeger	University of Pittsburgh Medical Center	karlnyaeger@gmail.com
Elections Co-chairs	Joe Boonsiri	University of Pittsburgh Medical Center	boonsiriji@upmc.edu
	Dillenia Reyes	Temple University Hospital	dicelle.reyes@gmail.com
Electronic Communications Co-chairs	Adnaan Moin	University of Maryland	amoin@umm.edu
	John Chua-Tuan	Texas Tech University	john060984@gmail.com
Membership Co-chairs	Kevan Stewart	Texas Tech University	kevanstewart@yahoo.com
	Theresa Kaufman	Temple University Hospital	theresa.kaufman@gmail.com
Publications Chair	Joseph R. Grajo	University of South Florida	jgrajo@health.usf.edu
Survey Committee Chair	Anup Shetty	Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology	shettya@mir.wustl.edu
Program Co-chairs	Roocha Patel	Georgetown University Hospital	roocha.patel@gmail.com
	Mark Franke	University of California Irvine	markafranke@gmail.com
Problem Solving (2)	Jessica Leschied	University of Michigan	jessica.leschied@gmail.com
	Peter Harri	Emory University	pharri@gmail.com
Case Review (2)	Brett Roberts	University of Alabama Birmingham	broberts9449@gmail.com
	Paul von Herrmann	University of Kentucky	pvo222@email.uky.edu
Idea Forum (2)	Stephen Johnson	Ochsner Clinic Foundation	stepjohnson@ochsner.org
	Jeffrey Belair	University of Pittsburgh Medical Center	jeff.belair@gmail.com
	Thomas Keimig	Henry Ford Hospital	twkeimig@gmail.com
Brogdon Panel	Jennifer Chang	University of California Davis	jennifer.chang@ucdmc.ucda- vis.edu
	Michael Cody	University of California Irvine	mcody1@gmail.com
Rules Chair	Willie Nunez	University of New Mexico	wnunez@salud.unm.edu
ABR Liaison	Borko Kereshi	Medical University of South Carolina	kereshi@musc.edu
ACR Liaison	Robert Percarpio	Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center	robert.b.percarpio@hitchcock. org
	Kevin Liaw	University of Tennessee	kliaw@mc.utmck.edu
APDR Liaison	Kara Udager	University of Michigan	kgaetke@umich.edu
	Jeff Goletz	Case Western University	jeff.goletz@gmail.com
AMA Liaison	Zachary Ballenger	Indiana University	zaballen@iupui.edu
AMA Liaison (alternate)	Adnaan Moin	University of Maryland	amoin@umm.edu
ACGME Liaison	Marilyn Barry- Brooks	Brown University	mbarry@lifespan.org
	Manish Patel	University of Alabama Birming- ham	mypatel@uabmc.edu
	Matthew Bentz	Oregon Health & Science University	doctorbentz@gmail.com
Welcoming Committee	Adnaan Moin	University of Maryland	amoin@umm.edu
-	Rebecca Wright	University of Maryland	rwrig002@gmail.com

2013 AUR Award Winners

AUR Gold Medal Award – Ronald L. Arenson, MD
A3CR2 Outstanding Teacher Award – Carl R. Fuhrman, MD
ACER Achievement Award – Jannette Collins, MD, MEd, FCCP
AMSER Excellence in Education Award – Petra J. Lewis, MD
RRA Innovation and Leadership Award – N. Reed Dunnick, MD
AUR Memorial Award – Dania Daye, BS
Joseph E. and Nancy O. Whitley Award – Michael F. McNeeley, MD

A3CR2 Research Award – Ricky Tong, MD, PhD AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award – Andrew W. Phillips, BA RAHSR-ACR Award for Socioeconomic and Health Services Research – Jana Ivanidze, MD, PhD RRA New Investigator Award – Gary D. Luker, MD

AUR Trainee Prize: Paper 1st Place – Katherine C. Frederick-Dyer, MD 2nd Place – Andrew J. Herzik 3rd Place – Pegah Entezari, MD

Poster or Exhibit 1st Place – Nabeel U. Ali, BS 2nd Place – Roshni A. Parikh, MD, BEng 3rd Place – Akshay Goel, BS

AUR GERRAF Award: Tessa S. Cook, MD, PhD Stella K. Kang, MD Katherine E. Maturen, MD Robert C. Orth, MD, PhD

Stauffer Award:

Outstanding Clinical Research Article – Ho Yun Lee, MD Outstanding Basic Science Research Article – Woong Jae Lee, MD Outstanding Education Article – Issa Rezek, MD



Carl R. Fuhrman, MD A³CR² Outstanding Teacher Award

APDR Achievement Award - Michael J. Shortsleeve, MD, FACR, Mount Auburn Hospital

AUR R&E Foundation Ethics and Professionalism Grant Recipients:

Annemarie Relyea-Chew, JD, MS, University of Washington

"Professionalism & ethics in Radiology The U.S. Health Care System: Tutorials for International Medical Graduates in Radiology"

Tracey Hillier, MD, CCFP, FRCPC, University of Alberta

"Redrawing the Line on Professionalism: Views on Professionalism and Ethical Behavior within Radiology"



Next Steering Committee meeting will be held at RSNA in Chicago on December 3rd, 2013. All are encouraged to attend.



See you at AUR 2014 in Baltimore! Marriott Baltimore Waterfront April 1-4, 2014