Summer Newsletter □ October 2016



On March 29th, 2016 the 64th annual meeting of the Association of University Radiologists convened at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, California. The meeting, entitled "Diversity, Inclusion, and Cultural Competency in Academic Radiology," brought together resident and faculty leaders from academic radiology programs across the country and included leaders in education, research and clinical care. Chief residents gathered as part of the American Alliance of Academic Chief Residents in Radiology (A³CR²). The A³CR² executive committee helped organize programming for the annual meeting, then passed on their responsibilities to newly elected officers for the upcoming 2016-17 academic year.

2016 A³CR² Highlights



A³CR² problem solving session combining faculty and residents from across the country.



Attendees enjoyed beautiful sunsets overlooking Coronado.



Dr. Bibb Allen and Dr. Amy Patel after giving the annual ACR update to the ${\rm A^3CR^2}.$



Never a dull moment in the bay of Coronado which provided a stunning backdrop for the 2016 annual meeting.



Welcome reception aboard the *Inspiration Hornblower* Yacht.

2016-2017 A³CR² Executive Committee and Faculty Advisors

Position	Name	Program
Executive Committee		
President	Robert Hobohm, MD	University of Cincinnati
Vice President	Howard Chen, MD	University of Pennsylvania
Secretary	Adam Meeks, MD	University of Maryland
Treasurer	Nishant Patel, MD	University of Michigan
Immediate Past President	Jeffrey Ware, MD	University of Pennsylvania
Faculty Members		
Senior Faculty Advisor	Peter Shou-Cheng Liu, MD	Cleveland Clinic
Faculty Advisors	Matt Hammer, MD	UT Southwestern
	Darel Heikamp, MD	Indiana University
	Ramesh Iyer, MD	University of Washington
	Tan-Lucien Mohammed, MD	University of Florida
	Charles Resnik, MD	University of Maryland
	Shane Wells, MD	University of Wisconsin



Incoming and outgoing ${\rm A^3CR^2}$ executive committee with Faculty Advisors at AUR 2016 in San Diego, CA.

2016-2017 A³CR² Steering Committee

Committee	Name (c) = committee chair	Program	
Awards	Prott Parker MD (c)	Vandarhilt University	
Awards	Brett Barker, MD (c)	Vanderbilt University	
Florica	Desmin Milner, MD	University of Alabama, Birmingham	
Elections	Matthew O'Brien , MD(c)	Henry Ford Hospital	
	Scott Johnson, MD	Cleveland Clinic	
Electronic Communications	Morgan McBee, MD (c)	University of Cincinnati	
	Haily Choi, MD	Georgetown University	
Membership	Kimberly Shampain , MD(c)	University of Michigan	
Drogram	Daniel Ortiz, MD Michael Cine, MD (c)	Eastern Virginia Medical Center University of Michigan	
Program	Matthew Kiczek, MD	Cleveland Clinic	
Drohlom Solving	·	Columbia University	
Problem Solving	Lyndon Luk, MD (c)	•	
	Linda Kelahan, MD	Georgetown University	
Case Review	Shehbaz Shaih, MD (c)	Henry Ford Hospital	
	Virginia Planz, MD	Wake Forest University	
dea Forum	Geraldine Liao, MD (c)	University of Pennsylvania	
	Joe Zerr, MD	UT Southwestern	
Brogdon Panel	Chris Gu, MD (c)	Mayo Clinic Rochester	
	Benjamin Morris, MD	University of Utah	
Publications	Adam Meeks, MD (c)	University of Maryland	
Rules	Sam Galagno, MD (c)	University of Alabama, Birminghan	
Survey Committee	Richard Tsai, MD (c)	Mallinckrodt	
AAPM Liaison	Tyler Sandow, MD (c)	Ochsner	
ABR Liaison	Scott Parker, MD (c)	University of Utah	
	Jessica Record, MD	Ochsner Clinic	
ACGME Liaison	Ankah Khosla, MD (c)	UT Southwestern	
	Colin Carroll, MD	Vanderbilt University	
ACR Liaison	Daniel Ortiz, MD (c)	Eastern Virginia Medical Center	
	J M Ponting, MD	Indiana University	
AMA Liaison	Daniel Adamo, MD (c)	Mayo Clinic Rochester	
APDR Liaison	Christopher Watterson, MD (c)	Cedars Sinai Medical Center	
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Amie McPherson, MD	Wake Forest University	

Congratulations to this year's award winners!

AUR Gold Medal Awards – Ruth C. Carlos, MD, MS and John Eng, MD

APDR Achievement Awards - Martha B. Mainiero, MD and Theresa C. McLoud, MD

SCARD Visionary Leadership Award – N. Reed Dunnick, MD

A 3CR2 Outstanding Teacher Award – M. Craig Morris, MD

ACER Achievement Award - Angelisa M. Paladin, MD

AMSER Excellence in Education Award – Judith K. Amorosa, MD and Kitt Shaffer, MD

RAHSR Achievement Award - G. Scott Gazella, MD, MPH, PhD

RRA Innovation and Leadership Award – Ronald L. Arenson, MD

AUR Memorial Award – Huan Dong, MD

Joseph E. and Nancy O. Whitley Award – Donna Magid, MD, MEd

A3CR2 Research Award – Ji Buethe, MD

AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award – John Renfrew, BS

RAHSR Harvey L. Neiman Award – Gelareh Sadigh, MD

RRA New Investigator Award – Andrew B. Rosenkrantz, MD

AUR Trainee Prize: Paper 1st Place – Jeffrey D. Poot, DO 2nd Place – Nima Hafezi Nejad, MD 3rd Place – Sean D. Raj, MD

Poster or Exhibit 1st Place – Paul B. Stoddard, MD 2nd Place – Mariam Hamid, BA 3rd Place – Philip Murillo, MD



The A³CR² Steering Committee meeting will be held on Tuesday, November 29th, 2016 at 1:00 to 2:30pm. All committee members are encouraged to attend.

Looking forward to seeing everyone at AUR 2017 in Hollywood, Florida!

The Diplomat Resort and Spa, Hollywood, FL 5/8-5/11

The Abstract Submission deadline is October 12, 2016 at 12pm (noon) central time.

